Singapore Math Curriculum Success

by Christe Dodds
(Texas)

Singapore Homeschooling Math Curriculum

Singapore Homeschooling Math Curriculum

More great features and benefits of Singapore homeschooling math curriculum...


We are starting our fourth year with Singapore math curriculum. It has been a wonderful curriculum for my son and now my daughter.

The Kindergarten math is friendly, colorful and gentle. The elementary homeschooling math program is more challenging for the students, but it seems they have plenty of opportunity for success.

And, my son seems to be far ahead of his peers in math, both in school and homeschool!

Thanks for sharing about Singapore Math, Christe; your thoughts are appreciated! Blessings, Heather :)

Would you like to leave a comment, or write your own homeschool curriculum review? Use the links below...

Comments for Singapore Math Curriculum Success

Click here to add your own comments

Jan 04, 2016
Prep for Singapore Math NEW
by: Anonymous

Hello there. My children's school is planning to start Singapore Math next year and I want to know if there are any resources I can get before then. I have read several reviews and one teacher said it was great but very difficult for the upper grades who hadn't used the program before. My daughters are in 2nd and 4th. The 4th grader is who I am concerned about. I'd like to start working on some things now and during the summer to prepare them for this new program. Any ideas? Anything I can purchase?

Jan 04, 2016
Prep for Singapore Math NEW
by: Anonymous

Hello there. My children's school is planning to start Singapore Math next year and I want to know if there are any resources I can get before then. I have read several reviews and one teacher said it was great but very difficult for the upper grades who hadn't used the program before. My daughters are in 2nd and 4th. The 4th grader is who I am concerned about. I'd like to start working on some things now and during the summer to prepare them for this new program. Any ideas? Anything I can purchase? sufiy.james@gmail.com

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Curriculum Review.

Singapore Math Curriculum Makes Sense!

by Kathy M. Hsu
(Roseville, CA USA)

Singapore math curriculum is great for elementary grades. It is colorful and each lesson builds upon the last. It also helps your child learn math in different ways. By seeing it on paper, through manipulatives, and thoughtful problems that help them think outside the box, they integrate the information instead of memorizing. It is limited in redundancy and keeps math fun. We love Singapore math curriculum because it makes sense.

Kathy, thanks for sharing what you love about Singapore math curriculum. Your thoughts are helpful and appreciated! Blessings, Heather :)

Read more Singapore Math reviews to learn more.

Would you like to leave a comment? Use the link below...

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Curriculum Review.

Singapore Math Series Review

by Nancy
(Wyoming, MN, USA)

I have been using the Singapore Math series for a little over six years now. It has been a great fit for all of my kids so far, from kindergarten to 6th grade. Each grade year is covered by a set, for example: first grade is 1A and 1B. What I like the most is its approach to teaching math facts. Kids get to solve and study math concepts from various perspectives allowing them to arrive at solutions in different ways. This is a series for children who get bored of rote drills and who enjoy mental math and grasp concepts fairly fast. I found the word problems to be challenging but excellent.

I find these series quite affordable. We used the basics, i.e. textbook and workbook. Every year I just need to buy new workbooks. I have only used this series through 6th grade, which I believe prepares them well enough to jump into another pre-algebra or algebra course (depending on the child). It worked very well with us to go into Jacob's Algebra after the 6A/6B Singapore set. I hope you find this information helpful. :)

Excellent Singapore Math Series review, Nancy, thanks for sharing! Your comments are very helpful! Blessings, Heather :)

You can find the entire Singapore Math Series for homeschooling, at CBD or singaporemath.com.

Would you like to leave a comment? Use the link below...

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Curriculum Review.

Singapore Math 1B for Homeschool

by Julia
(Pittsburgh, PA)

Great Homeschool Math Supplement

Great Homeschool Math Supplement

When my twins were in first grade last year I wanted to supplement their homeschool math program and happened across a used Singapore Math 1B. I didn't have them actually write out any of the answers in the book, we just did it together orally as mental math. We didn't do this every day--maybe once a week or twice in a week, every couple of weeks.

I was really impressed to see how the pictures taught them to conceptualize the problems, and they got to be really good at solving more complex problems mentally.

This year I've decided to use Saxon Math, as the kids need lots of repetition and are still mastering their facts. However, I liked Singapore enough last year as an oral program that I got my hands on 2A & B also and hope to do them a similar way this year.

I also ordered the Singapore 2 Challenging Word Problems and hope to do these orally as well.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Curriculum Review.

Singapore Math 1A Review

by Chiana
(Philadelphia, PA)

Singapore Math for Short Attention Spans

Singapore Math for Short Attention Spans

Got a wiggly, giggly kid? Completing homeschool math lessons isn't hard for this five-year-old, because her smart mom chose the right curriculum for her...

I've been using Singapore Math 1A with my 5 year old since January and it's been great.

She tends to have a short attention span and she's not keen on pages of exercises, so this works out great for her. We tend to supplement with the usage of an abacus and that's it. I was really impressed with the simplicity and the low cost of going this route.

During her summer break, we've been using the Level 1 Extra Practice to keep her mind sharp and yet again it's short enough to retain her interest.

I would definitely recommend to anyone with a little one that wants to learn math, but not for too long.

Yay, for finding the right curriculum for your child; thanks for sharing some great money-saving tips too! Blessings, Heather :)

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Curriculum Review.

Singapore Math Disappointment

by Machelle
(Milwaukee, WI)

Singapore Math Disppointment

Singapore Math Disppointment

After becoming bored with our current homeschooling math curriculum, we decided to purchase Singapore Math. It did not take long for my son to beg to go back to what we were using before.

The Singapore Math was hard to understand and hard to follow along. The teachers edition was horrible and a waste of time. I agree with some reviews in that Singapore is advanced. However, if you want your student to be well prepared and grounded in math, Singapore is not the way to go.

Also, if you do not use Singapore in the earlier grades, then it is much harder to understand their thought process when you reach the secondary grades.

Comments for Singapore Math Disappointment

Click here to add your own comments

Jun 29, 2010
Singapore
by: SoCalLynn

I'm sorry it didn't work out for you. We have used Singapore since starting with book 2A and will be moving into book 6A this fall. It has worked out great for my daughter, who when asked if she wanted to try something new for math begged to keep using Singapore! Just wanted to say that what works for one person doesn't necessarily work well for another, as each individual has a different learning style. It doesn't mean the math curricula is bad, it just didn't work out for your child.

Jun 29, 2010
Math
by: Sharon J.

Every child's situation is different. We have successfully used Singapore from Early bird through NEM I. (NEM II to begin in the fall.) My middle child, however, enjoys the puzzles and "one worksheet a day" approach to MEP math, so she's been using that instead.

Jun 29, 2010
MEP Math
by: Heather

Hi Sharon,
Can you tell me what MEP Math is? I have never heard of it; I'm sure others haven't either.
Thanks for your comments!
Heather :)

Nov 17, 2010
I Love Singapore Math
by: Anonymous

Singapore math is definitely different. I am using the second grade level successfully with my 1st grader. I do not have the teacher book, but the student book and workbook. It definitely is a different approach to math but I feel it is well worth learning. The reason I love Singapore math is because it visually demonstrates the reasons for why we do what we do with math. It offers many different approaches, many of which I commonly use as an adult. It gives you different ways of looking at things and since children are all different learners, I think its approach could be very helpful. That being said, I using it concurrently with Saxon Math which seems to be much easier and much more traditional. I think there is value in repetition of learning facts, especially in a young age.

Apr 26, 2011
MEP Math
by: Rachel

MEP Math is a complete math curriculum that is used in Hungary and available online for free here http://www.cimt.plymouth.ac.uk/projects/mep/default.htm

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Curriculum Review.

Singapore Math Curriculum Tips

by Nancy
(Michigan)

Singapore Math Curriculum Tips

Singapore Math Curriculum Tips

Learn some helpful Singapore Math tips from a very happy mom of two boys...

Singapore Math has proven to be a great homeschooling math curriculum for our boys, ages 8 and 9, who are both advanced (currently in 5th grade). Singapore 5th grade is more like public school 6th grade level. (We just finished a unit on simultaneous equations, and none of our homeschooling friends have done that sort of thing in 5th grade.)

My boys appreciate the logic behind the math- everything is explained well enough for them to grasp, and often more than one way of solving a problem is covered. They really learn how to think, and I've been pleased with how well they can take the concepts they've learned and apply them to different situations. Using math in the real world! Who knew?

The lessons are usually short, and assume some knowledge on the part of the teacher. If you're not mathematically minded you'll need the teacher's manual. We have not bought a teacher's book yet, but I can see that I will need it for next year as I am getting to the limits of what I can remember from junior high.

Singapore does use an incremental approach, which sometimes means hitting on a topic but not thoroughly covering it. This can leave kids feeling frustrated. We supplement occasionally with extra problems on the white board, or free printables from the internet.
I should mention that rote memorization is not stressed- make sure you have your kids memorize their times tables! It's vital, but the book never really instructs you to do it.

For grades 1-3, we combined Singapore with Miquon. (We love math!) Those old-fashioned worksheets were a great complement to Singapore. My kids have such a firm foundation in math, thanks to both of these homeschooling math programs.

Excellent review of Singapore Math curriculum, Nancy. Thanks for sharing your experience, as well as some helpful tips for other parents who are using Singapore, or considering this curriculum for their child. Blessings, Heather :)

Would you like to leave a comment, or write your own homeschool curriculum review? Use the links below...

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Curriculum Review.

Singapore Math Curriculum Testimonial

by pragmaticmom
(newton, ma)

Singapore Math Curriculum

Singapore Math Curriculum

Finding the perfect curriculum makes homeschooling so much easier, doesn't it? Singapore Math works so well for this mom, her child begs to do more...

Singapore Math curriculum is the best math system I've come across because it's a visual and intuitive. My kids use it to supplement Chicago Math's Every Day Math. It's especially helpful when they do not understand a concept at school like carry subtraction because Singapore Math does such a good job of explaining concepts. My youngest is whipping through it and begs to do it... now that is a testimonial!

Thanks so much for the math recommendation and the testimonial. What a blessing it is to find curriculum that works and kids enjoy. Singapore must be doing something right, if your child begs to do it! :) Heather

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Curriculum Review.

Singapore Math Primary 1a/1b

by Elizabeth
(Souderton, pa, usa)

Singapore Math

Singapore Math

I recently finished our first year in the Singapore Math Primary curriculum. My son had completed the Earlybird series (also from Singapore Math) last year. If we were not homeschooling, he would have been in Kindergarden in public school.

Overall, he enjoyed this curriculum. I enjoyed the mental math strategies that will lay the foundation for a deeper understanding of concepts like borrowing, regrouping, etc. We fleshed out some concepts with manipulatives such as a base 10 set, and we went into more depth with counting money and telling time using the Kumon books for those topics.

Singapore does not have a lot of dull repetition which is great for some children. Kids who benefit from more extensive reinforcement may find it beneficial to work on more exercises outside of Singapore's program. We also find that some work in Miquon works well to supplement Singapore.

This is a challenging homeschooling math curriculum that sets a strong foundation for math in the future. It is also very affordable if used by itself. Purchasing additional manipulatives to flesh out topics will add to the cost, but these are purely optional.

Would you like to leave a comment, or write your own homeschool curriculum review? Use the links below...

Comments for Singapore Math Primary 1a/1b

Click here to add your own comments

Aug 13, 2010
Extra Practice
by: SoCalLynn

This will be the 4th year using Singapore math for my 10 year old daughter. I just wanted to add that if your student does need more practice than the textbook and workbook provide, Singapore has an additional workbook called the Extra Practice workbook. I use it when daughter needs just that extra boost with the concept before she moves on to the next topic. I don't think it's really necessary to look outside the program for additional resources when Singapore has already thoughtfully provided what's needed.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Curriculum Review.

Singapore Math Program Review

by Tawnya
(Michigan)

Singapore Math Program

Singapore Math Program

This will be our second year using Singapore Math program and my daughter and I love it.

When we first started using Singapore, I was skeptical. It was a completely different way of doing math then the way I had been taught so I read through the teachers guide and did the work side by side with my daughter. Once I understood, it was like a light bulb turned on in my head. Even though I have always loved math, this really had me thinking in a new, faster way.

I really like the teacher guides. It has a nice schedule, lots of games to play for reinforcement and mental math drills in the back.

The textbooks do a great job of explaining the lesson and are in color which make it interesting to look at. The workbooks and textbooks have nice short lessons. We also use the Intensive Practice books and The Challenging Word Problems books.

My daughter is really excelling in math and enjoys Singapore math program too.

Would you like to leave a comment, or write your own homeschool curriculum review? Use the links below...

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Curriculum Review.

Singapore Homeschool Math Curriculum Review

by Lida Thang
(Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA)

Kids Love Singapore Homeschool Math Lessons

Kids Love Singapore Homeschool Math Lessons

Popular, very affordable and easy-to-use homeschool math curriculum for penny-pinching parents. Kids love the fun lessons; parents love the price!

My son loves the Singapore homeschool math curriculum; especially the drill and practice.

Singapore Math is compact and to the point at the same time. We used it for a year and will continue to use it. My son completed the 2nd and third grade levels. He is going into the third grade but doing 4th grade math!

Singapore homeschool math curriculum is reasonably priced. I didn't even use the teacher's manual and it still worked well. I just purchased the student text, workbook and test materials.

Wow! Singapore Math is very reasonable priced; great resource for budget-conscious parents, Lida. Thanks for sharing. Blessings, Heather

I checked around and found discounted Singapore homeschool math curriculum at CBD as well as a few interesting tips.

Singapore homeschool math:

=>strengthens your child's mental math and problem solving skills through fun word problems and easy step-by-step explanations,

=>gives your homeschooling student an increased understanding of mathematical applications and standard problem-solving,

=>challenges your student to independently apply their knowledge of math,

=>gets your child to understand the reasoning behind math.


Enjoy Singapore Savings from our affiliate CBD. Visit the CBD website now...

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Curriculum Review.

Singapore Math Curriculum Review

by Tracy P
(Simsbury, CT)


Learn more about Singapore Math curriculum and why Tracy has used it in her home school for over seven years...

We love Singapore Math! Both of my daughters have used Singapore Math since preschool and one is now in 6th grade and the other in 3rd. It is very affordable and provides an opportunity for the parent to be very involved in the day-to-day lessons as well as hands-off, if the child prefers independent study. They have both faired extremely well against their "schooled" peers and are at least a grade level above their peers. It has given them a solid foundation to build from, as they approach high school level math and I'm confident that they will continue to excel.

Thanks for the helpful Singapore Math curriculum review, Tracy! Your thoughts are much appreciated. Blessings, Heather :)

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Curriculum Review.

Search Our Website!

Custom Search

FREE $$-Saving Newsletter!

Receive FREE Homeschool Tips, Info on Special Savings and Homeschool Discounts!
Sign-up For Our Newsletter!